Present Imperfect

The Melbourne Aquarium

Posted in Uncategorized by Big Red Dress on September 25, 2011

I am on school holidays at the moment. Because I teach at an independent school, I get three glorious weeks instead of the government two. Initially I’d wanted to use the first week off, when public school children are still locked away in classrooms, to visit those popular Melbourne attractions which become bedlam once the school holidays proper begin. Unfortunately I also wanted to get away to our family holiday house at Inverloch and the long range forecast indicated that it was now or never if I wanted the sunshine. So I booked in for an end of week trip to the holiday house and joined my brother and nephew at the Melbourne aquarium.

It is a great place to take the children, but it is an expensive day out for a family. If you live near enough that multiple visits in a year are a possibility, I’d recommend the annual pass as a more cost effective option. The kids did love it though. The first exciting prospect was the tram ride to the city, with the aquarium appearing in the distance after an exciting bridge crossing (my kids love bridges).

 

The aquarium website announced that they had ‘double the penguins’ for the school holidays which I found highly amusing as an advertising concept.

 

   

I love this next photo. The kids have motion blur because of the low light (and my failure to change the ISO) but I really feel like it captures their sense of wonder.

 

 

Leave a comment